Friends of the Opera

About FOTO

Friends of the Opera (FOTO) began in 1974 as a support group for Opera Grand Rapids. As an independent non-profit organization with more than 175 members, FOTO works to promote the love of opera in West Michigan.

FOTO members help house visiting artists, host cast parties and educational events. To become a FOTO member, please complete and return the Membership Form. For details about joining, email FOTO President John T. Jones.

FOTO Mission

To provide access to opera, to facilitate opera education, and to encourage support of opera within the communities in which we serve.

Pre-Performance Talks

Join Friends of the Opera for an informative discussion about the opera on the orchestra floor one hour before curtain.

October 13 & 14, 2017  |  6:30 PM         Rigoletto
DeVos Performance Hall

Presenter TBD

January 15, 2018  |  6:30 PM         I DREAM
Fountain Street Church

Presenter TBD

May 4 & 5, 2018  |  6:30 PM               The Marriage of Figaro
DeVos Performance Hall

Presenter TBD

Cast Parties

2017-18 Cast Parties to be announced

FOTO Members

FOTO Officers
Peggy Barber, Vice President
Kate Baxter, Secretary
John T. Jones, President
Roland Prevost, Past President
Joanie Snyder, Treasurer

FOTO Board Members
Suellen Bandyk
Tom Bandyk
Dr. John T Frey
Clarice Geels
Terri Handlin
Jan Heerspink
Kyle Irwin
Nancy Knauss
Mark LaCross
Mark Lewis
Guenter Tusch
Dave VanderArk
Lorrie VanderArk
Dorothy Velasco

William Bjork
Celebration Cinema
Jacquelyn DeRegnaucourt
Dr. John T. Frey
Clarice Geels
Stephen Hoyle
Dr. Gary and Patricia Hartman-Hurt
Dr. John Iacobucci
Margaret P. Idema
Sidney J. Jr. & Cate Jansma
Marcia Kapolka
Marilyn Titche

Suellen & Tom Bandyk
Florence Bouwman
Gilbert R. Davis
Joan F. Gillett
Jan Heerspink
Win & Kyle Irwin
Gayla Jewell
Tony Kroes
Marion T. Little
Marilyn Macklin
Chet Maternowski
Judy Oberholtzer
George & Joanie Snyder
Peter Turner
Guenter Tusch
Lorrie & Dave VanderArk
Karl & Jean VanderLaan

Jim & Cathy Brady
Joanne & John Emmons
Fran & Joe Hall
Mark C. Lewis & Christine Wassenaar
Arend & Nancy Lubbers
Diane St. Claire & Tom Northway
Till & Bernice Peters
Alwyn & Christine Rougier-Chapman
Dave & Lynn Setsma
Jean Silbar & Dan Voorhees
Cheryl & John Tully
David & Anne-Lise Whitescarver

Kate Baxter
Lois DeBoer
Joshilyn Hoisington
John Hunting
John T. Jones
Mary A. Koon
Julie Otterbein
Wendy Stock
Mary Ann Walters
Gloria Yff

Muriel Burger
Harriet Christensen
Joan F. Gillett
Lois Loetz
Robert Lyall
June L. Marshall
Stella Royce
Foley Schuler
John Schuster-Craig
Richard Stien

Opera Grand Rapids Staff
Anne Berquist
Kate Folkert
Angela Freier
Maestro James Meena
Ashley Roberts
Sarah Watson